top of page

Life Update

This week I’d like to just give an update on what’s been happening in my life lately.

On the 14th, I had my monthly IV chemo appointment that didn’t include a lumbar puncture for once (YAAY)! I’m told that for the most part in my maintenance treatment I’ll have them every month but I do get a break every now and then. So, it was definitely a relief not having to get one and, therefore, not going through the anxiety of worrying about any possible infections popping up over the next 48 hours. Oh! and no lingering back pain for the rest of the week (LP’s always give me back pain)! But, moving forward, this also made my day at the Hemo Clinic much shorter than usual even though it still kind of dragged since they were pretty busy. However, no matter how busy, Jon (my nurse practitioner) always manages to make time to talk to me about our latest music obsessions and Chris (my doctor's head nurse) always tries to get a "Hi" in or at least ask the mandatory questions that need logged in so we get a chance to chat! I always look forward to those conversations! One day when I go, I’d love to do a video blog and show you what a day in my life is like there!

My daily chemo pills dosage has actually been increased (usually they have to decrease it because it drops my numbers so much) which I guess has it’s pro and cons, as it means my body is handling the chemo but that my numbers still aren’t going to be fantastic since I’ll be taking more of it. So, I think we’ve almost reached the point where we know how much of what pills I can tolerate to keep my numbers stable (still below average but not dangerously so is our version of stable/good). That way there shouldn’t be too many surprises in my weekly labs and then I’ll actually be able to go out and make plans because I’ll pretty much know what my numbers should be. Since I’ve began maintenance (mid-October), my doctors have been all over the place trying to get the perfect dosage set for me which is to be expected because everybody handles chemo differently but, it has been a frustrating process. I’m getting a bit stir crazy! I’ve taken on many many hobbies! Side note: I also haven’t driven since being diagnosed which is crazy to think about! I’m seriously going to have to practice haha

To continue, this week’s home health labs were actually a bit concerning. They showed that my protein was low (my home health nurse sends me my lab results and faxes them to The James). Me being me, I immediately think of the worst and that it’s a sign that the chemo pills are taking a tool on my liver and that now I’m going to have liver functioning issues. It's routine that if I get any weird lab results, my doctors at the James always call me. I didn’t a call. For now, this has me relieved as it means they’re not too worried about it yet but I’m very anxious for next week’s labs. Maybe it was a fluke (I get a good amount of protein in my diet), maybe not. Long-term pills like mine can definitely effect your liver/kidneys so even if it turns out to be nothing now, I’m always going to worry about it because it could turn out to be something later. Thankfully, my team keeps a very close watch on all of this, doesn’t make me any less stressed though.

On a positive note, I’ve been asked to speak at another public event on April 7th! It’s for The Ohio State University Relay for Life 2-day fundraiser hosted by the American Cancer Society. I’m very excited for this opportunity which is an unexpected emotion from me since I was the girl in high school that waited until the last minute possible to present for class. The thing is, what I’m going through, and thousands of other people, is so much bigger and important than some class speech. People don’t understand the impact words can have, and having a platform to tell my story so that others can feel hope, strength, inspiration, and support from just a nobody like me is the most amazing feeling. If I can make one person feel a little less alone then I can die happy. I’ve only spoken at one other event but it’s sparked something in me that I don’t want to put out. I will always have this passion now to help and be an advocate towards victims of cancer. I will never say no to a speaking opportunity and I hope I’m able to further explore and continue this passion now and after my own fight is over because even once my fight is over someone else’s is just beginning, and maybe they’ll need someone like me on their side.

Photo of me at my latest appointment:

Thanks for reading my update! XOXO

If you can make it to the OSU Relay for Life, do it! If not, then donating to the cause can also help! My speech will be at night so I’m going to try and record it as best as possible if you can’t make it. <3

bottom of page