top of page

Why I Didn't Get A Bone Marrow Transplant

For this blog, I just want to briefly get into why I didn’t get a Bone Marrow Transplant (BMT). There’s not much to it so this will be a shorter reading compared to my last few!

To begin, the whole point of Induction Chemo (the first chemo cycle you get when you are diagnosed with Leukemia, that lasts about a month while admitted to the hospital), is to get your body to 0% Blast (Cancer) Cells or as close as possible. Basically, to get you into remission. Some people do well with the chemo and get there, some do okay with the chemo and get pretty close, and others can’t handle the amount of chemo you are treated with and have to call it quits. Everyone is different, they can have a different type of Leukemia and be in a different risk category. It all depends on multiple factors!

I was considered more of a standard risk B-Cell ALL patient. I came out of my Induction Phase in remission, had no leukemic cells in my cerebrospinal fluid (CSF), and had no chromosome translocations. However, I was 18 (an adult) at diagnosis which is still young but, in Leukemia, the older you are the more the survival rate decreases. Also, although the chemo was/is killing my disease it was also killing my bone marrow pretty well. Of course, this is what chemo is supposed to do but, for me, it took and still takes longer than usual for my bone marrow to heal back up to keep my chemo treatment as continuous as possible. They do designated breaks throughout treatment but mine always last longer. I’ve had quite a few (at least) 3 week breaks from chemo to let my numbers (WBC, Hemoglobin, and Platelets) get back up! Thankfully, even though I’m a young adult I’m being treated with the childhood leukemia chemo regime instead of the adult regime which is much more rigorous! (Fun Fact: I’ve heard that they are starting to treat adults with childhood chemo because they are finding better results! Years ago, I would have gotten adult chemo that would have made it even more difficult to handle the chemo that I already get now!)

To continue, as of now, I do not have a full bone marrow match. My brother and parents are half matches so if I needed a transplant it would most likely be from brother, as new research has shown that transplants can work with a half match, but in the back of your mind you still worry about not having a full match because results will (most likely) have a better chance of being successful with a full match.

Anyways, with all of that put into consideration, my BMT doctor (one of the best, might I add) recommended me to continue with chemo treatment. My chances to continue with chemo treatment or getting a transplant were basically the same so, still being new to my diagnosis at the time, my mother and I had no clue what we were doing and put our full confidence in his recommendation. I don’t regret it. So, that’s why I didn’t get a BMT! If my leukemia ever comes back that will definitely be the next step though, unless they've found a better cure by then! Ultimately, the decision is between you and your team! You will hear about good and bad outcomes whether people did or didn't get a BMT.

On that note, if you really want to help the people in this world, donate your blood and put your DNA in the bone marrow registry. You could really save a life with your BM and lives with your blood. Don’t wait until it effects your life to help someone you know or in your family. Do it now.

In honor of V-Day passing by, here is a throwback to my last V-Day!

Happy V-Day!

If you didn't know, any words underlined and in orange are links in all of my blogs! I hope my BMT story has helped! Many people think getting a BMT is your best option whether you need it or not but, sometimes the chances can be the same. Talk to your doctor and ask many many questions!

XOXO,

Ivy

(P.S.- Check out my video for the week and my gallery <3)

bottom of page